Jun 15, 2019 12:12 PM EST


Austin makes it 4 in a row in 4 Cylinder.  Cecce, Collins Jr., Shields, Ellison and Michael Jr. all repeat feature winners.

(Dundee, NY)  A Hurricane rolled thru the Outlaw Speedway on Friday, June 14, but it wasn’t your typical storm howling high winds and rain that you might think of.  Steve Paine, nicknamed The Hurricane put on a dominating performance in the 30 lap Friendly Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep Ram Modified feature and with his win put an end to the undefeated regular season feature victory lane visits by Super Matt Sheppard. The Doctor Danny Johnson along with second generation driver, Greg Birosh brought the 22 car field to the opening green flag.  The Doctor immediately jumped into the top spot and led thru lap ten when the first of three caution flags waved. On the restart Paine, who had started in the fourth starting moved around Johnson to take command of the event. However, all eyes were now focused on Super Matt Sheppard who was working his way to the front after starting right behind Paine on the initial green flag.  Another caution on lap 12 again bunched the field, but on the restart Paine was able to maintain control as pole starter, Danny Johnson began to drop a few spots. Super Matt was able to get to second place, but could never get any closer than 1 second of Paine’s lead. Sheppard tried every line and every trick in the book but couldn’t reel in Paine and with just 4 laps to go suffered a flat tire ending his perfect season.  From there on The Hurricane cruised to his second win of 2019 with his first coming in the season opening Dutch Hoag Triple 7’s make-up in April. Eric Rudolph who once again made the long haul from his Ransomville home was able to race from his 6th row starting spot to claim the runner up spot at the finish followed across the line by AJ Slideways, Alan Johnson who started third on the grid and that is just where he finished.  Dillon Groover started the 30 lap feature in the fifth row and finished fourth as he was chased across the line by Jim LaRock who like Groover started mid pack and drove to a top five finish.

Heat wins went to Kyle Coffey, Sheppard and Danny Johnson.

Tommy Collins Jr. picked up his second feature win of the season in the Sunrise Insulation American Racer Tire Crate Sportsman Division.  Collins, who is now becoming more and more of a threat each and every week at Outlaw Speedway in Crate Sportsman action had to hold off the charge of Billy Paine who was looking to follow his father, Steve into victory lane but came up just one spot short.  However the high school student from Geneva had his best ever feature finish since joining both the American Racer Tire Sportsman and Modified Classes at the track. Brian Fish continued his consistent season by finishing third at the checkered flag and like Collins he too is a force to be reckoned with every week.  2018 Track Champion, Chris Fisher started in the third row, drove a steady race to claim fourth as front row starter, Stacy Jackson dropped a few spots to round the top five.

Heats went to Todd Hayward and Collins Jr.

In the Hoosier Tire shod DIRTcar Sportsman Class, Brandon Butler was first across the line, but a post-race inspection found an abnormality thus handing the win to Will Shields who claimed his second victory in the class and third overall in both Sportsman Classes thus far in 2019.  Shields was followed across the line by Kyle Inman with Steve Gray rounding out the top three podium finishers. 3rd generation driver, Alex Payne put on a steady performance to finish fourth followed across the line by AJ Lloyd who rounded the top five.

Heats were claimed by Inman and Shields.

The classy looking Stan’s No Tubes Street Stock Division continues to impress and for the fourth time in 2019 Dylan Cecce found his way to victory lane, however it didn’t come easy as Cecce had to hold off the relentless challenges of two time and defending track champion, Glen Whritenour who started right behind Cecce in starting row 7 at the opening green.  The two sliced their way thru traffic as they went to the top of the class having to pass a number of quality cars, but in the end it was Cecce holding Whritenour at bay to pick up his 4th of the season.  CJ Guererri, who also started mid pack, drove a steady race to claim third behind GW with Jake Karlnoski and Jared Hill rounding the top five.

Heat wins went to Guererri and Gene Balmer.

For some two decades, Rich Michael Jr. has barn stormed IMCA Modified Sanctioned tracks across the northeast and he has even made several trips to the famous Boone Nationals held in September every fall in Boone, Iowa.  Having stepped away several years ago to try his hand at Crate Late Model racing, Micheal Jr. went back to his roots where he continues to be a top threat at whatever track he shows up with his potent 17j. Making the haul from his western New York home in Ishua, Michael once again show his liking of Outlaw Speedway by picking up the feature win against a short but impressive field of Marion Decker Insurance IMCA Modified competitors including last year’s Track Champion, Rodney Morgan.  In the end it was Michael nailing feature win number two on the season as Morgan had to settle for second at the finish. The Smith’s, Brad and Brandon gave chase but could only finish third and fourth respectfully as Ole Dick in the Dirt Karlnoski rounded the top five.

Heats went to Karlnoski and Michael Jr.

The Marion Decker Insurance Hobby Stock Division started a strong 20 car feature event as the class continues to grow in numbers.  Wayne Ellison, who had already picked up two feature wins thus far in “19” started back in the 5th starting row, methodically worked his way to the front and claimed the feature win.  He was followed across the line by veteran driver, Jason Clugstone who settled for second.  Justin and Jamie Eldredge were third and fourth as last year’s champ, Marc Minutolo came home fifth.

Heats went to Clugstone, Minutolo and Casey Wagner.

The Mighty 4 Cylinders once again did not disappoint the crowd as the class pits both rear and front wheel drive machines going toe to toe.  For the fourth straight week, second generation driver Adam Austin showed why he claimed the 2018 Trach Championship in the division by besting a strong field of competitors.  Like Austin before him, Ray Hyer has decades of experience driving the 4 cylinder creations and came home for second at the checkers joined by Ted Morseman as he claimed the third place podium finish.  Josh Oles and Scott Lehman rounded out the top five.

Heats were won by Austin, Oles and Lehman Jr.

Congratulations to all competitors.

Up next at Outlaw Speedway on Wednesday, June 19 it will be the return of the Brett Deyo owned and promoted Short Track Super Series as many of the top Modified drivers within a 5 state area will converge on the Outlaw Speedway to see who can win the 50 lap Showdown.  It is anticipated that last year’s winner, Stewart Friesen will be in competition.

For all gate and start times as well as ticket prices and support classes simply go to www.facebook.com/OutlawSpeedwayLLC/.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Bully Hill Vineyards