Jul 11, 2018 07:13 AM EDT



CONTACT:  Paul Szmal (315) 759-0176 drwho941@yahoo.com

July 10, 2018


DUNDEE, NY...On a warm, breezy night, the Big Block Modifieds of the Super DIRTcar Series came to Outlaw Speedway for the 'Ultimate Outlaw 100'.

Erik Rudolph led the field down for the start of the 100-lap Super DIRTcar Modified Series event but Brett Hearn was the leader of the opening lap.  Stewart Freisen moved in to third, then took second from Rudolph as the first yellow flag flew for Ryan Swartout's crash in turn one on lap 11. Danny Johnson moved into the 4th spot on the restart behind Tyler Siri as Freisen battled Hearn for the lead.  Freisen ran down Hearn in traffic and took the lead on lap 30 as the yellow flew for Butch Tittle's stopped car. As Freisen and Hearn again got into traffic, Matt Sheppard battled with Danny Johnson and Rudolph for third spot.

Jimmy Phelps was forced to the pits just past halfway after contact with Rusty Smith sent him spinning, and he was unable to return for a restart on lap 59.  Defending race winner Billy Decker and Alan Johnson took advantage of the restarts to move within striking distance of the top five as Freisen continued to lead the event.  Decker charged into fourth and battled Danny Johnson for third. Alan Johnson slowed on lap 79 to bring out another yellow and set up another restart. Freisen again pulled away as Sheppard slid past Johnson for third spot.  Freisen had an issue while leading on lap 89, handing the lead back to Hearn, with Sheppard hot on his heels. A caution for Marcus Dinkins' spin on lap 91 set up a shootout to the finish, where Hearn was able to pull away from Sheppard to take the win.  Johnson and Rudolph were third and fourth, with Tim Fuller passing Decker in the finals laps for fifth.

Super DIRTcar Modified Series heats were won by Danny Johnson, Erik Rudolph, and Billy Decker.  The Billy Whitaker Cars & Trux Fast Time Award was taken by Danny Johnson at a 14.558.

In the Outlaw Crate Sportsman Series 30-lap feature, Donnie Lawson grabbed the early lead as Jimmy Zacharias battled with Dave Marcuccilli for second.   An early yellow for Dustin Jordan's spin on lap 3 put Marcuccilli along side Lawson, and Marcuccilli grabbed the lead on the restart as Brett Buono moved into a battle with Lawson and Kenny Hammond.  Buono slid back in the field as Tom Collins Jr. moved into the top five. Brandon Butler brought out the yellow on lap 16, and when racing resumed, Tim Guild and Nick Guererri battled for fifth as the leaders pulled away.  Marcuccilli was able to cut through traffic in the remaining laps to claim another win at the Dundee oval, followed by Hammond, Lawson, Collins Jr, and Guild.

Outlaw Crate Sportsman Series heats were won by Nick Guererri, Dave Marcuccilli, and Donnie Lawson.

The 25-lap Street Stock feature saw Josh Pangrazio steal the lead from Brett Crawford on the opening lap with Dylan Cecce moving into second spot as they strung out a bit under green.  A lap 11 caution bunched things up again and allowed Glenn Whritenour, who started 18th after a flat in his heat race, to crack the top five. Whritenour took third on a lap 15 restart and then grabbed second from Cecce, but could not catch Pangrazio, who took the win in his first visit to Outlaw in 2018 over Whritenour, Cecce, Crawford, and CJ Guererri.

Street Stock heats were won by Brett Crawford, Dylan Cecce, and Carl Cleveland.  

Outlaw Speedway will be idle on Friday, July 13th and returns to action on July 20th with a Super 7 Show that includes the makeup date for the Gary Montgomery Memorial for the RUSH Crate Late Model Series.  There will also be 1 on 1 Spectator Races that night. Racing will begin at 7:00 p.m. For more information, visit the Outlaw Speedway web site at www.outlawspeedwayllc.com.



Rudolph, Tim Fuller, Billy Decker, Max McLaughlin, Steve Paine, Pat Ward, Rich Scagliotta, Peter Britten, Adam Roberts, Tyler Siri, Kyle Coffey, J-F Corriveau, Derrick Podsiadlo, Brady Fultz, Butch Tittle, Dave Rauscher, Andrew Ferguson, Rusty Smith, Marcus Dinkins, Brian Swarthout, Stewart Freisen, Alan Johnson, Jimmy Phelps.

OUTLAW CRATE SPORTSMAN SERIES-DAVE MARCUCCILLI, Kenny Hammond, Donnie Lawson, Tommy Collins Jr, Tim Guild, Jimmy Zacharias, Nick Guererri, Chris Fisher, Billy Bowers, Dale Welty, Brett Buono, Will Shields, Brian Fish, Karl Comfort, Doug Kline, Bob Buono, Dustin Jordan, Brandon Butler, Todd Hayward, Dean Laughlin, Nichole Hoag, Kirk Reynolds, Stacy Jackson, Loren Lincoln-DNS

STREET STOCKS-JOSH PANGRAZIO, Glenn Whritenour, Dylan Cecce, Brett Crawford, CJ Guererri, Gene Balmer, Quinn Sutherland, Jared Hill, Chuck Winslow, Aksel Jensen, Carl Cleveland, Mick Seeley, Earl Zimmer, Jayson Smart, Allison Teed, Jimmy Grant, Jake Karlnoski, James Kreidler III, Jeremy Trank, John Burritt, Shane Wolf Jr.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Geneva Glass Center

Suburban Propane

Area Auto Racing News