Jun 4, 2017 09:02 AM EST

Gary Montgomery Night - Outlaw Speedway

Outlaw Speedway played host to the RUSH Late Model Series Friday, June 2nd in memory of the late Gary Montgomery. Montgomery was a man passionate about auto racing at every level, until he lost a courageous battle with cancer in November 2016.

The RUSH Late Model Series entered the 4/10 mile Dundee, N.Y. oval with Bryce Davis and Jason Knowles bringing the 21-car field to the green flag for 30 laps of action. Davis and Knowles battled for the lead early in the event with Knowles taking the advantage until he had troubles on the back straightaway, sliding over the third turn bank, handing the lead to Davis. Davis held the lead after the restart until debis slowed the field on lap 17. On the restart Davis and Jeremy Wonderling would ignite an intense battle of lead changing slidejobs corner after corner, lap after lap with Wonderling completing the pass on lap 21. Just one circuit later, Jason Genco would go for a spin in turn 1 bringing out a caution, giving Davis another shot beside Wonderling. The war continued on the restart until Davis took over the top spot for good on lap 24, going on to claim the victory. Wonderling came home second, a nice late race charge put Wayne Robertson in the third position, Kurt Stebbins fourth, and Brian Knowles rounding out the top five.

Glenn Whritenour and Todd Stone brought the IMCA Modifieds to full song with Stone taking the early advantage. Whritenour chased Stone and took over the top spot on lap 6, but a hard-charging Richard Michael, Jr. came from the ninth starting position and took the lead from Whritenour on lap 7. Rodney Morgan slowed the field when he came to a stop off turn two on lap 12. Michael checked out on the restart and had the race on hand until Brandon Smith spun in turn four of the final lap to bring out the yellow and give the rest of the field one more chance. Michael was too strong and went on to score the IMCA Modified win. Beau Ballard had a nice run to second, Rich Karlnoski, Todd Stone, and Shawn Bruce finishing out the top 5.

The Outlaw Modifieds were next to storm into action. Marcus Dinkins and Dillon Groover led the field to the green flag, but mechanical trouble for third place starter Eldon Payne on the first lap coming off turn 2 would send Brady Fultz around, with Alan Johnson making hard contact with the 70. Fultz and Johnson would both have to retire from the event. Tyler Siri stormed into the lead on the restart with Steve Paine charging hard up into the second spot. Paine pulled alongside the 5* for the lead, but a spin by Dinkins would bring the field to yellow on lap 10. Back to green flag racing, Siri pulled back out front while Matt Sheppard challenged and overtook Paine for second. Joe Dgien pulled high in turn 1 and came to a stop on lap 21 setting up a 9-lap shootout. Sheppard made the most of it on the restart taking over the top spot from Siri and going on to win his third Outlaw Modified feature of the 2017 season. Siri, Paine, Cory Costa, and Justin Wright completed the top five.

The 4-Cylinders were now ready to go green. Wild racing action with cars all over the speedway from low to high saw passing all around the 4/10 mile oval. Timmy Border, Jr. was the early race leader until Erica Bell took away the top spot on lap 3, but that was short-lived as Ray Hyer drove the 4D6 up to the lead on lap 5. Nobody would be able to challenge Hyer for the victory. Hyer claimed his third win of 2017 with Bell second, A.J. Potrzebowski third, Chris Percy fourth, and Dante Mancuso fifth.
James Kreidler, III and Jared Hill battled for the early lead in the Street/Hobby Stock feature event. Hill took over the top spot on lap 3, but the yellow would fly as trouble for Bob Buono in turn 4 came to a stop. Hill pulled out front on the restart, but Glenn Whritenour was charging to the front in the 15, driving by Hill for the lead on lap 6. Chuck Winslow was showing strength moving up into second and lurking behind Whritenour for the lead. Third place running Kurt Stebbins came to a stop on lap 18 to slow the field and set up a 2-lap dash. Whritenour went on to claim the victory over Winslow, Dan Mazzaresse, Jared Hill,and Carl Cleveland in the top five. 

Chris Silvers and Hillary Ward brought a strong field of Crate Sportsman to the charge. Silvers jumped into the early lead, but on lap 2 would get into turn 3 a little too hot and go for a spin. Loren Lincoln took over the top spot from Mike Buchanan on the restart and would lead until lap 10 when Rob Bussey made a move for the lead. Bussey looked to be the guy to beat, but Carl Comfort had worked his way into second when the yellow flag flew on lap 17 when Hillary Ward made hard contact in turn 2. Comfort charged into the lead on the restart and would never look back. Comfort claimed his first victory at Outlaw Speedway with Tommy Collins, Jr. charging hard to second at the stripe, Rob Bussey third, Lincoln fourth, and Brett Buono closing out the top 5.

The Bandit division also ran a feature event with the stars of tomorrow getting some track time on the 4/10 mile clay oval. Twelve year old Cole Youse captured the win after a hard fought battle with Jordan Bacon. The Bandit division is growing and the competition is getting stronger every week. If you have a youngster that loves racing, this is a great place to get them started.


Outlaw Speedway will be back in action Friday, June 9th with Yates County Food Pantry Night. Just $7 Grandstand admission with canned food donation! In action Friday will be our Super 6 Show plus Hot Dog Races! Grandstand gates open at 5:00 PM with racing action getting underway at 7:00 PM.


RUSH LATE MODEL SERIES CRATE: BRYCE DAVIS, Jeremy Wonderling, Wayne Robertson, Kurt Stebbins, Brian Knowles, Andy Boozel, Sean Beardsley, Steve Beardsley, Steve LaBarron, TJ Downs, Andy Michael, JJ Mazur, Brian Swank, Brad Smith, Kyle Murray, Alan Chapman, Brad Mesler, Jason Genco, John Waters, Jason Knowles, Mike Wonderling

IMCA: RICHARD MICHAEL, Beau Ballard, Rich Karlnoski, Todd Stone, Shawn Bruce, Jake Karlnoski, Phil Yaw, Bump Scutt, Brandon Smith, Glenn Whritenour, Rodney Morgan, Brad Smith, Sparky Hills (DNS)

MODIFIEDS: MATT SHEPPARD, Tyler Siri, Steve Paine, Cory Costa, Justin Wright, Derrick Podsiadlo, Donnie Lawson, Dillon Groover, Eric Fisher, Joe Dgien, Scott Boudinot, Marcus Dinkins, Kyle Coffey, Jim LaRock, Lee Bills, Eldon Payne Jr., Brady Fultz, Alan Johnson

4 CYLINDER: RAY HYER, Erica Bell, AJ Potrzebowski , Chris Percy, Dante Mancuso, John Burritt, Terry Potrzebowski, Steve Perkins Sr., Timmy Borden Jr., Desi Force, Harold Fenton Jr., Mike Stone, Scott Lehmann, Billy Bowers, Arty Teed, Dan Smart, Derrick Puryear, ShiAnne LaBar

STREET/HOBBY STOCK: Glenn Whritenour, Chuck Winslow, Dan Mazzaresse, Jared Hill, Carl Cleveland, Gene Balmer, Jayson Smart, James Kriedler III, Nate Deggett, Dave Matweijow, Brian DeStephen, Marc Minutolo (HS), Dave Decker (HS) , Kurt Stebbins, Jason Clugstone, Allison Pierce(HS) , Quinn Sutherland, Bob Buono, Allison Teed, LaVerne Knickerbocker (DNS)

CRATE SPORTSMAN: KARL COMFORT, Tommy Collins Jr., Rob Bussey, Loren Lincoln, Brett Buono, Brian Fish, AJ Lloyd, Mike Buchanan, Fran Hilton, Dale Welty, Chris Silvers, Eric Williams, Brent Ayers, Zachery Ziegenhagen, Chris Clemons, Hillary Ward, John Agnew, Frank Guerreri Jr., Todd Hayward, Clay Wheat-French (DNS), Chris Fisher (DNS)

BANDITS: COLE YOUSE, Jordan Bacon, Austin Labar, Sam Clugstone, Braden Buchanan, Matt Irwin, Steve Perkins III

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford