Aug 6, 2012 02:11 PM EST

Celebrity Night Ready to Rock Dundee Friday

A-Verdi Sprint Championship URC joins PST for $4,000-to-Win Event


Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY, (August 6, 2012)- It is the event where just about anything can happen and who knows will show up, and it is finally here.


This Friday, August 10, Matt Dillner, SP Wilson and A-Verdi Storage Containers will present the 7th Annual MRO Celebrity Night.  It is a great fundraising event for Motor Racing Outreach and should be well supported by fans, donations, driver autographs and much more.


The celebrity match race will once again utilize sportsman modifieds.  Past winners include Michael McDowell, David Reutimann and J.J. Yeley, each of whom could possibly be part of the proceedings this weekend.  Other expected celebrities include Dave Blaney and his son Ryan.  Many names have yet to be announced but will be included come Friday evening.


Another major part of the night of action will be the sprint cars. For the third time this season, the Patriot Sprint Tour will invade Dundee; for the second time this year, the United Racing Company will join in on the fun and there presence only makes this event more exciting.


Each year since 2001, the 4/10-mile oval has hosted a sprint car event on the second weekend in August.  This likely has something to do with the presence of the stock car community just down the road, which has brought in some big names throughout the years and may very well again this Friday.  A-Verdi Storage Containers has been title sponsor of this event for many of those years, with S.P. Wilson/ Lakes Gas continuing their support of sprint car events in Dundee as they have for decades.


Recently, winning this marquis event has translated into a Patriot championship.  This has occurred the last two years with Bryan Howland (2010) and Jared Zimbardi (2011) dominating their respective events.  Chuck Hebing also pulled off this accomplishment back in 2006.


Howland would love nothing more than to score his first win on American soil this Friday and put a major exclamation point in his quest for his fifth PST Championship.  Howland leads local favorite Tim Kelly of Rock Stream by just 16 points with three races remaining and Kelly has been extremely steady over the last six races, finishing in the top five in each of those events.  A win for the No. 12 would be a popular one in the pits, in the stands, and especially for their team.


Last time the PST was in Yates County, it was George Suprick, the winningest sprint car driver in BRS history, getting redemption for his crash in May and scoring the win.  In Victory Lane though, the 2004 Track Champion mentioned that was just a tune-up for this Friday’s race, an event he won in 2005.


Bobby Breen, the winner of the May PST/URC Challenge will make his return now that he has completed his college courses in Ohio.  Breen will have a plethora of drivers that are looking to thwart is attempt at a repeat of May though, and will be invading from all over.


Scott Kreutter, the most recent winner on the PST Tour on Saturday McKean County will be on hand, as will Tommy Wickham, Don Adamczyk, Steve Collins, Brandan Warner, Steve Hutchinson Jr., Clint Ide, Dave Wickham, Bruce DeWick, Charlie Donk, Tracy Potter and Jessica Zemken.


The United Racing Company contingent is also sure to be strong this Friday.  Robbie Stillwaggon leads the standings with fellow New Jersey driver Davie Franek closely in second.  Other URC drivers expected include Josh Weller, Kevin Darling, Randy West, Joey Biasi, Ed Aikin, Chad Trout, Art Liedl, Tim Hogue, Andy Best, Jonathan Swanson, Troy Betts and Dan Mazy.


Each weekly division will be running under a feature-only format Friday. Competitors will draw for starting position, run their hot lap session early in the night and then run features spaced out throughout the evening.  This will be the third-to-last point race for each division and is sure to have major championship implications.


Brady Fultz has been able to put some cushion back in his point lead in the sportsman division, due in large part to his precision on the cushion last Friday.  Fultz now leads defending champion Donnie Lawson by 34 points.


John Waters’ dominance of the late models continued last Friday and now holds a 43 point lead over Jason Knowles.


Other divisions are a little more hotly-contested for their championships.  In the street stocks, Chris Fisher leads Bob Buono by just four points while Dylan Cecce is closing fast after two straight wins.  Mike Smith’s second-straight win in the IMCA Modifieds pulled him within just seven points of Phil Yaw with Dave Yehl just 10 back of Yaw.


In 4-cylinder competition, Rich Sharpsteen now finds himself 19 points up on James Kreidler III in the Signs Plus of Kanona Division.  Steven Rogers leads Jamie Eldridge by nine points in the FWD Division.  Brandon Mathews’ win Friday in the bandits has made it a three-way battle for that title as Lance Irwin and Justin Eldridge are just four points apart.


Racing action gets underway at 6:45 P.M. with gates swinging open at 5:00 P.M.  For more information, visit


MRO Match Race History

Races: 6

2006- Tim Fedewa

2007- Jeremy Mayfield

2008- David Reutimann

2009- Bobby Decker

2010- J.J. Yeley

2011- Michael McDowell


Patriot Sprint Tour History at Black Rock

Races: 33

9/6/2003- Scott Bonnell

4/24/2004- Rich Swarthout

5/22/2004- Lance Yonge

6/5/2004- George Suprick

6/12/2004- George Suprick

6/19/2004- George Suprick

6/26/2004- Bobby Breen

7/2/2004- Rick Wilson

7/10/2004- Chuck Hebing

7/17/2004- George Suprick

8/7/2004- Blake Breen

8/14/2004- Blake Breen

9/4/2004- Chuck Hebing

9/11/2004- Trevor Lewis

8/13/2005- George Suprick

9/10/2005- Trevor Lewis

8/12/2006- Chuck Hebing

9/9/2006- Curt Michael

5/18/2007- Chuck Hebing

5/19/2007- Travis Rilat

8/11/2007- Jared Zimbardi

8/8/2008- Justin Barger

5/15/2009- Bobby Breen

8/7/2009- Trevor Lewis

4/30/2010- Chuck Hebing

8/6/2010- Bryan Howland

9/10/2010- Bobby Breen and Alain Bergeron (Preliminary Events)

9/11/2010- Justin Barger

5/7/2011- J.J. Grasso

7/8/2011- Chuck Hebing

8/12/2011- Jared Zimbardi

5/4/2012- Bobby Breen

6/29/2012- George Suprick

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford