Jun 25, 2012 10:32 AM EST

Patriot Sprint Tour Returns to Black Rock this Friday

BRP Dart LM Challenge Also Part of Big Show


Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY (June 25, 2012)- Black Rock Speedway has been using traditional weekends for many years to host the sprint cars, however a new date has sprung up for this weekend to help kick off the summer in fashion.


After two weeks off, this Friday, June 29, the Black Rock Speedway in Dundee, NY will reopen and host a Patriot-sanctioned race for the 33rd time, the most in series history.  It will be the second of three trips for the Patriots to the Yates County Power plant in 2012, with this one presented by M&W Aluminum Products.  With $10,000 going to the PST America Series Champion, there is no question the 4/10-mile will be a critical component of the title chase.


This will be the first Patriot Sprint Tour America event in over a month, a series that is lead by Bryan Howland.  Defending Champion Jared Zimbardi is 5th in points but is fresh off a win last Friday at Ohsweken.  Those drivers were in the top three at BRS back in May, when Bobby Breen scored an impressive win.


George Suprick is looking for revenge after a mechanical failure knocked him out of the lead and flipped over his No. 87 in May.  Despite being the winningest sprint car driver in track history, Suprick has not won at BRS since 2005.


Scott Kreutter currently sits second in the PST America standings and was an impressive fourth in May.  Justin Barger was fifth and is the most recent PST winner, capturing the Checkereds Saturday at South Buxton.  Don Adamczyk won the Original Pizza Logs Dash and ran up to sixth in May and is salivating at the thought of returning and having a chance at his first career win.


Tommy Wickham and local favorite Tim Kelly were the top two finishers at the last PST America event and will be on hand, along with Steve Collins, who also performs well at BRS. 


Among the other Patriot competitors that have won at Black Rock that are expected to be in attendance include Penn Yan’s Lance Yonge and six-time BRS winner Chuck Hebing.  A plethora of drivers that have yet to grace Black Rock victory lane in a sprint car that are expected include Dave Wickham, Clint Ide, Paul Habeck, Charlie Donk, Steve Hutchinson, Sam Reakes IV, Kevin Ward Jr., Bruce DeWick and Brandan Warner, just to name a few.


Another major part of the show on Friday Night will be the return of the BRP Dart Late Model Challenge.


To date, John Waters and Mike Wonderling have scored wins in the four late model events completed at Black Rock.  Waters owns three of the four trophies while Wonderling was the most recent winner.  Waters’ trophy collection includes one given to him for winning the opening round of the 2012 BRP Dart Challenge last month.  Waters also won round two of the challenge at Little Valley earlier this month, giving the defending series champion the early point lead.


It is too early to focus on points, but Jason Knowles is looking.  The second generation race car driver is off to a solid start with his 2012 racing program, but is still in search of his first win.  The former BRS Champion has finished second and fourth in the first two challenge races this season, placing him in a tie for second in the standings with another former BRS Champion, Jeremy Wonderling.


The sportsman has been the deepest and perhaps the most competitive weekly division at BRS thus far in 2012.  Brady Fultz leads the standings but Chris Daugherty is fresh off a weekend sweep the last time the 4/10-mile oval was in action.


The street stock action has been thrilling down to the final corner all season and that could very well continue this Friday.  Bob Buono holds a narrow seven point advantage over defending champion and most recent winner Chris Fisher.


Phil Yaw is the current IMCA Modified point leader, but not until last race was he a winner in the division.  Now that he has broken through, things could get rolling, but not if drivers like Dave Yehl, Mike Smith and Rich Karlnoski have something to say about it.


All three 4-cylinder divisions will be in action as well with James Kreidler III and Rich Sharpsteen II looking to sort out their tight point battle in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinders.  Steven Rogers holds the FWD point lead while Justin Eldridge is ahead with the bandits.


Pit gates will swing open at 5:00 P.M., with hot laps getting under way at 6:00 P.M.  Racing will kick off at 6:45 P.M.  For more information, visit


Patriot Sprint Tour History at Black Rock

Races: 32

9/6/2003- Scott Bonnell

4/24/2004- Rich Swarthout

5/22/2004- Lance Yonge

6/5/2004- George Suprick

6/12/2004- George Suprick

6/19/2004- George Suprick

6/26/2004- Bobby Breen

7/2/2004- Rick Wilson

7/10/2004- Chuck Hebing

7/17/2004- George Suprick

8/7/2004- Blake Breen

8/14/2004- Blake Breen

9/4/2004- Chuck Hebing

9/11/2004- Trevor Lewis

8/13/2005- George Suprick

9/10/2005- Trevor Lewis

8/12/2006- Chuck Hebing

9/9/2006- Curt Michael

5/18/2007- Chuck Hebing

5/19/2007- Travis Rilat

8/11/2007- Jared Zimbardi

8/8/2008- Justin Barger

5/15/2009- Bobby Breen

8/7/2009- Trevor Lewis

4/30/2010- Chuck Hebing

8/6/2010- Bryan Howland

9/10/2010- Bobby Breen and Alain Bergeron (Preliminary Events)

9/11/2010- Justin Barger

5/7/2011- J.J. Grasso

7/8/2011- Chuck Hebing

8/12/2011- Jared Zimbardi

5/4/2012- Bobby Breen

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Area Auto Racing News