Jun 14, 2012 08:15 PM EST

BRP Dart Challenge Returns To Black Rock
…Round #3 Set For Friday June 29…


DundeeNY… Dean Hoag, owner and promoter of Black Rock Speedway, will host round three of the Bicknell Racing Products (BRP) Dart Challenge on Friday June 29.  Black Rock has taken a couple of weeks off for events other than stock car racing.  That will all change in a very big way on the 29th when the BRP late models return.


To date John Waters and Mike Wonderling have scored wins in the four late model events completed at Black Rock. John Waters owns three of the four trophies and Mike Wonderling the most recent winner.  Included in the Waters’ trophy collection is the reward for winning the opening round of the 2012 BRP Dart Challenge last month.


Waters also won round two of the Challenge.  That win came at Little Valley Speedway on June 8.  As a result Waters, the 2011 BRP Dart Challenge champion, heads the point standings.


It is too early to focus on points, but Jason (The Jet) Knowles is looking.  This second generation race car driver is off to a solid start with his 2012 racing program.  Solid, but without a win at this point.  The Jet was second to Waters in the Challenge opener and fourth at Little Valley. Those finishes have produced 180 points, just 20 fewer than Waters.  Jason is a former Black Rock late model champion and is looking forward to his return to the high speed DundeeNY oval.


Jeremy Wonderling, the defending BRP CanAm Late Model Series champion, is tied with Knowles for second in the early Challenge standings.  Wonderling is also a former Black Rock late model champion and anxious for a win on the fast wide blue clay track.  


The BRP Dart Challenge is a cooperative effort between Little Valley Speedway and Black Rock Speedway with three events at each track.  Primary marketing partners of the Challenge are Bicknell Racing Products of St. Catharines, Ontario and Dart Machinery of Troy Michigan.  The Challenge offers a $3000 point fund for the six events.  BRS hosted round #1 of the Challenge and will host rounds #3 and #5.  LVS gets the even number rounds.


2012 BRP Dart Challenge:

#1 May 18 – Black Rock Speedway – top 3: John Waters, Jason Knowles, Bruce Miller

#2 June 8 – Little Valley Speedway – top 3: John Waters, Jeremy Wonderling, Mike Wonderling

#3 June 29 – Black Rock Speedway

#4 July3 – Little Valley Speedway

#5 August 3 – Black Rock Speedway

#6 August 29 – Little Valley Speedway


Point standings (top 10 of 26) as of June 9: John Waters 200, Jason Knowles 180, Jeremy Wonderling 180, Bruce Miller 158, Jared Hill 145, Mike Wonderling 134, Dave DuBois 130, Dusty Waters 124, Mikey Wonderling 120, and Brian Knowles 119


Black Rock Speedway gates will open at 5:00 on Friday June 29.  


The 2012 BRP CanAm Late Model Series is presented by the following marketing partners:

Bicknell Racing Products, ACL Bearings, BC Designs, Beyea Custom Headers, Close Racing Supply, Cousins Designs, Damon’s Dyno’d Race Engines, Dart Machinery, Dick Berggren’s Speedway Illustrated, F/A Products, Felpro Gaskets, Gater Racing News, Hoosier Tires, ISKY Racing Cams, Lias Tire,, Melling Performance Engine Parts, National Parts Peddler, Phair Enterprises, Scat Crankshafts, Signs Plus of Kanona, Total Seal Rings, Turn6Photos, Wiles Racing Driveshafts, and Wrisco Racing Aluminum


Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

RK Howell Gravel Products

DC Rauscher

NAPA of Addison, New York

Lanes Yamaha

Macs Dairy Bar