Jun 9, 2012 08:43 PM EST

Daugherty Back On Top of Sportsman as Walker Dominates Micro Sprints at Black Rock

Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY, (June 8, 2012)- On an action-filled night, a lot was unknown, including the time that it might get done, but even before the clock struck 11:00, a great night of racing and monster trucks was complete.


Despite having two traveling series and four monster trucks on hand Friday Night, action ran off smoothly at the Black Rock Speedway.  Some drivers also had a clean night, including Chris Daugherty in the sportsman ranks.


Daugherty scored his second win of the year, his first since opening night, as he took over the lead on lap 16 when Randy McCulloch was forced to pit with a flat tire.  Despite late pressure from point leader Brady Fultz, Daugherty was once again able to hold him off to claim his second feature win of the season.


Trevor Sutherland led the early portions of the event and would eventually slide back to cross in third, however he would be disqualified upon post-race inspection, handing third over to Ray Bliss Jr., who held off Fran Hilton an Karl Comfort to round out the top five.


In their first appearance of the season, the Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour once again put on a quality performance, this time with Tyler Walker leading wire-to-wire to pick up his second tour win of the season.


Walker, of North Tonawanda, NY, drove a strong race from the pole position to hold off top driver Ryan Greth of Pennsylvania for a popular victory.  A.J. Bogino was a strong third ahead of Darryl Ruggles and Cody Shurgot.


In a true case of turning back the clock, Larry Doolittle lead all 12 laps of the Midstate Vintage Stock Car Feature, holding off Ray Preston for the win.  Gordie Wood was the Limited Sporstman Division Winner.


Nate Daggett scored his first in of the year in the street stock class, taking the lead from youngster Dylan Cecce on the seventh lap and never looking back as he held off consummate frontrunners Bob Buono and Chris Fisher.  Cecce would settle for fourth while Larry Fenton Jr. completed the top five.


Mike Smith reasserted his dominance of the IMCA Modified division, claiming his third win of the year at Black Rock as he dominated the event over Phil Yaw, who inherited second place and the subsequent point lead due in part to the disqualification of Rich Karlnoski, who crossed the line in second. Dave Yehl would finish in third while Shawn Bruce and Steve Twigg rounded out the top five.


Rich Sharpsteen II scored his second win of the year in the RWD 4-Cylinder class, leading the entire way over point leader James Kreidler III, Scott Bradley and Jayson Smart were the top five.  Within that race was also the FWD 4-cylinder division, which saw Steve Rogers cross the line first in that class for the second time this year.


To begin the night, Lance Irwin recorded his second win of the year, leading all 10 laps of the event that kicked off the night of action. The monster trucks also put on another thrilling performance with Lucas Oil Equalizer once again winning the freestyle competition.


For more information, visit


Black Rock Speedway Results: 6/8/2012-

Vintage and Micro Sprint Night


Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- CHRIS DAUGHERTY, Brady Fultz, Ray Bliss Jr., Fran Hilton, Karl Comfort, Chris Silvers, Casey Pavlick, Loren Lincoln, Joe Cook Jr., Gary Hotelling, Eric Williams, Ross Vleck, Brent Ayers, Serenity Sutherland, Josh Keesey, Nicole Hoag, Josh Livingston, Dale Welty, Chad Dailey, Randy McCulloch, Donnie Lawson, Brandon Butler, Trevor Sutherland (DQ).


Lap Leader- T. Sutherland 1-3, McCulloch 4-15, Daugherty 16-20.

Heat Winners- Welty, T. Sutherland, McCulloch.


Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour Feature (20 Laps)- TYLER WALKER, Ryan Greth, A.J. Bogino, Darryl Ruggles, Cody Shurgot, Kevin Carlson, Ben Kysor, Megan Allen, John Smith, Keith Granholm, Matt Smith, Nate Hendrix, Dan Knoll, Clayton Brewer III, Adam Tiffany, Hank Stanhope, Kirsten Dombroski, Val Stephens, Josh Azzi, Alysha Ruggles, Dan Kuhn, Keith Heater (DNS).


Lap Leaders- Walker 1-20.

Heat Winners- A. Ruggles, Walker, Greth.


Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club Feature (12 Laps)- LARRY DOOLITTLE, Ray Preston, Bill Holmes, Bob Williams, Gordie Wood, John Applebee, Paul Applebee, Bob Whipple, Ken Knapp, Don Larmon, Bob Martell (DNS), Shirley Morden (DNS)


Limited Sportsman Division Winner- Wood.


Lap Leaders- Doolittle 1-12.

Heat Winner- Doolittle.


Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- NATE DAGGETT, Bob Buono, Chris Fisher, Dylan Cecce, Larry Fenton Jr., Tim Hettis, Chuck Winslow, Erica Bell, Jeremy Perkins, Rich Sharpsteen I, Jake Karlnoski (DNS), Dan Smart (DNS).


Lap Leaders- Cecce 1-6, Daggett 7-20.

Heat Winners- Fenton, Cecce.


IMCA Modified Feature (20 Laps)- MIKE SMITH, Phil Yaw, Dave Yehl, Shawn Bruce, Steve Twigg, Bruce Tinsley, Don Reeves, Rob Wilcox, Jared Spaulding, Todd Stone (DNS), Scott Sebring (DNS), Rich Karlnoski (DQ).


Lap Leaders- Smith 1-20.

Heat Winner- Smith, Twigg.


Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- RICH SHARPSTEEN II, James Kriedler III, Scott Bradley, Jayson Smart, Jeremy Trank, Ray Speicher, Chad Ayers, Bill Cagle, Russ Wassner, Chris Ayers, Del Cummings, Rick Horton, David Kinner, Stacey Smith, Val Stepehns, Erick Bell, Zack Teed, Mike Ziarno, Bobby Teed, Harold Fenton Jr. (DNS).


Lap Leaders- Sharpsteen 1-20.

Heat Winners- Bradley, Sharpsteen.


Front Wheel Drive 4 Cylinder Division- STEVE ROGERS, Jamie Eldridge, Josh Sharpsteen, Alyssa Duby.


Heat Winner- Rogers.


Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- LANCE IRWIN, Allison Teed, Justin Eldridge, Noah Herington, Joey Rodbourn, Brandon Matthews, Desiree Force, Brandon Kinner.


Lap Leaders- Irwin 1-10.


Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Bully Hill Vineyards