May 10, 2012 07:01 AM EST

BRP Dart Challenge Begins At Black Rock
…Program Enhanced for 2012…

St Catharines , ONT…The 2012 Bicknell Racing Products (BRP) Dart Challenge will begin at Black Rock Speedway on Friday May 18.


The six event Challenge includes three events at Black Rock Speedway and three at Little Valley Speedway just as it did last year.  The venues and format are unchanged, but the program has been significantly enhanced for 2012.


Several of the bonus programs for the BRP CanAm Late Model Series tour events will now being offered for the BRP Dart Challenge events. Specifically, the Gater Racing News Leader of the Pack Award, the F/A Products Engine Builders Awards, the Dart Machinery Hard Charger, and the Douglas B. Miles Insurance Agency ( Rookie of the Year program all provide increased reward potential for drivers who compete.


Each program starts with a draw for qualifying race starting positions.  The driver who draws the best (lowest) number earns the Gater Racing Photo News Leader of the Pack Award. He gets to start on the pole and lead the pack to the green of the first heat and a subscription to the Patrick family owned and operated weekly racing publication.


F/A Products of Ontario, NY in cooperation with ACL Bearings of Grand Rapids, MI, Felpro Gaskets of Southfield, MI, Melling Performance Engine Parts of Jackson, MI, Scat Crankshafts of Redondo Beach, CA, and Total Seal Piston Rings of Phoenix, AZ will present a $50 engine builder certificate to each heat race and B-Main winner.


Dart Machinery of Troy, MI will present a $50 product certificate to the Dart Hard Charger at each event. The Dart Hard Charger is the driver who advances the most positions in the A-Main.


Perhaps most important is the change in methodology for determining the 2012 Rookie of the Year.  This $1000 cash award goes to the driver who earns the most points during the 2012 season in BRP Dart Challenge events, BRP CanAm Series tour events, and the home track bonus points program.  Previously rookie points were earned only via tour events and the home track bonus program.


The defending BRP Dart Challenge champion is John Waters.  Waters is off to a terrific start this year with three wins in four starts.  He hopes to keep his win streak going and earn another big trophy and the $1000 check that will go to the 2012 BRP Dart Challenge champion.  


The schedule:

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Black Rock Speedway Friday May 18

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Little Valley Speedway Friday June 8

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Black Rock Speedway Friday June 29

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Little Valley Speedway Tuesday July 3

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Black Rock Speedway Friday August 3

            BRP Dart Challenge @ Little Valley Speedway Wednesday August 29


The 2012 BRP CanAm Late Model Series and the BRP Dart Challenge are presented by the following marketing partners:

Bicknell Racing Products, ACL Bearings, BC Designs, Beyea Custom Headers, Close Racing Supply, Cousins Designs, Damon’s Dyno’d Race Engines, Dart Machinery, Dick Berggren’s Speedway Illustrated, F/A Products, Felpro Gaskets, Gater Racing News, Hoosier Tires, ISKY Racing Cams, Lias Tire,, Melling Performance Engine Parts, National Parts Peddler, Phair Enterprises, Scat Crankshafts, Signs Plus of Kanona, Total Seal Rings, Turn6Photos, Wiles Racing Driveshafts, and Wrisco Racing Aluminum

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford