Aug 22, 2010 12:53 AM EDT

John Juhl and Adam Depuy Breakthrough at Black Rock

A pair of veteran racers captured their first career wins in their respective divisions in front of a packed house that was treated to great racing on free admission night at Black Rock.

John Juhl, of Weedsport, claimed his first career sportsman win while Adam Depuy, of Macedon, scored his first late model win in his first full season in the division.

Juhl led all 20 laps of the Hoselton Automall Sportsman event, finally having everything go his way without bad luck for the first time this season and achieving the potential he has shown all season in his first season running weekly at Black Rock.

“The first win is the sweetest but it is also the hardest,” declared Juhl in Victory Lane. “It is an hour and a half drive for us each week but the track fits my driving style.”

Juhl had a number of restarts in which he had to keep prior race winners Ray Bliss Jr. and Rob Richmond Jr. at bay. After the green flag would drop, Juhl would get his No. 2p a comfortable distance ahead of the pack as he cruised to the win.

Bliss and Richmond would cross behind Juhl for second and third, respectively. Fran Hilton and Katelyn Kane improved their standing in the points by rounding out the top-five.

The 20-lap feature was slowed by a few cautions, with the most significant occurring on lap two when Brady Fultz was caught up in a wreck that also involved Randy McCulloch, Loren Lincoln and three others.

Newly-crowned track champion Donnie Lawson suffered an overheating problem on his No. 11 and was forced pit side early.

Adam Depuy not only scored his first career late model victory, he did it in the final BRS leg of the Dart Dirt Black Rock/Canandaigua Late Model Challenge. To add to it, he passed Jeff Chesebro for the lead to do it.

Depuy used the bottom line to near perfection early on and when Jeremy Wonderling had to give up his bid for the lead with a flat tire on lap seven, the No. 99 restarted on the bottom line and began a great battle with Chesebro for the lead.

Chesebro ran the top while Depuy tried to work the push out of his car on the bottom. DePuy briefly led on lap eight but Chesebro held his ground and would lead until lap 14 when DePuy took over for good.

“That race was a lot of fun,” stated Depuy, who has run just about a dozen races in his late model since making the move from the street stock division. “I raced side-by-side with Jeff for so long, I Knew I had to just get ahead of him.”

Chesebro would tag the exterior fence in his No. 97, which would peel off the right side of his rear spoiler; which would loosen up the car and allow a hard-charging Jason Knowles to take away second. With the second place finish, Knowles is now in prime position to claim the track championship in the division.

Genesee County drivers Dave DuBois and J.J. Mazur would round out the top-five, with Jeremy Wondering getting back up to sixth after his flat tire and contact with Chris Peacock on an ensuing restart.

Andy Fisk picked up second win of the season at BRS in the American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature, as he drove underneath leader Nate Peckham coming to the completion of lap nine and held him off the rest of the way.

Fisk stated after the feature that he always struggles in his heat but the track seems to come to him when it counts. It was his second win in three weeks.

Nate Daggett scored an impressive third place finish after having his No. 3D t-boned early in the race. Dan Hoffman Sr. and Larry Fenton Jr. completed the top-five.

Jared Hill finished in sixth, but came across the finish line with his No. 93 engulfed in flames, forcing a red flag to be added to Starter Scott Hixson’s Checkered Flag.

Chris Fisher blew up the motor on his No. 37 in his heat, but after the feature still had enough of a point lead to claim his second track championship.

Ray Speicher captured the win in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature. The Beaver Dams driver led all 20 laps, but it was far from easy as he had Terry Povoski pressuring the No. 14 for a handful of laps.

On a lap seven restart, Speicher went against the 4-cylinder standard and chose the bottom line for the double-file restart, allowing Povoski to start to the outside. The two would run side-by-side for three laps before Speicher finally pulled back in front.

“I knew (Povoski) was good on the bottom, but figured he wasn’t strong enough on the top to get around me,” commented Speicher after the race.

Terry Povoski would fall out midway through the race with mechanical issues but would pick up the division championship with one week left.

Scott Bradley stayed within reach of Speicher, but would have to settle for second. Rich Sharpsteen II was third, with Chad Ayers and Russ Wassner rounding out the top-five.

Cody Clemens kept winning his strong finish to the season going in the Home Necessities Bandits, as he jumped to the lead on the second lap and drove away to a comfortable win. Behind Clemens though, a fierce battle was on for second.

Noah Herington would prevail for second and earn enough points to all but lock up the division championship heading into the final race of the season next week. Allison Teed claimed her best finish of the year in third.

The final night of the regular season takes place next Friday and includes Wreckapalooza 2, presented by Goodrich Auto Body, which includes a motor home demolition derby. If the event was rained out, it will be moved to September 3. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 8/20/2010-
Home Necessities Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- JOHN JUHL, Ray Bliss Jr., Rob Richmond Jr., Fran Hilton, Katelyn Kane, Steve Swarthout, A.J. Potzrebowski, Brandon Butler, Randy McCulloch, Tyler Siri, Greg Crooker, Matt Richmond, Loren Lincoln, Serenity Sutherland, Joe Cook Jr., Donnie Lawson, Brent Ayers, Kreg Crooker, Brady Fultz.

Lap Leader- Juhl 1-20.
Heat Winners- McCulloch, Juhl, Lawson.

Dart Dirt Canandaigua/ Insinger/Sunoco Fuels Late Model Challenge Feature (20 Laps)- ADAM DEPUY, Jason Knowles, Jeff Chesebro, Dave DuBois, J.J. Mazur, Jeremy Wonderling, Mikey Wonderling, Dick Park Jr., Adam Ashcroft, Bob Babbitt, Chris Peacock, Jon Rivers, Bob Buono, Carl Cleveland, Beamer Guzzardi, Jim Johnson, Quinn Sutherland, Larry Knowles.

Lap Leaders- Chesebro 1-8, Depuy 9, Chesebro 10-14, Depuy 15-20.
Heat Winners- J. Knowles, Chesebro, J. Wonderling.

American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- ANDY FISK, Nate Peckham, Nate Daggett, Dan Hoffman Sr., Larry Fenton Jr., Jared Hill, Scott Sebring, Chris Force, Dave Yehl, Rich McIntyre, Jeremy Perkins, Carl Cleveland, Bob Buono, Dan Smart, Chris Lopez, Jim McAfee, Chris Fisher (DNS), Les McCann (DNS).

Lap Leaders- McIntyre 1-2, Peckham 3-8, Fisk 9-20.
Heat Winners- Buono, Force, Peckham.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- RAY SPEICHER, Scott Bradley, Rich Sharpsteen II, Chad Ayers, Russ Wassner, Bobby Teed, Ryan Nichols, Rob Wilcox, Erica Bell, Del Cummings, Kailey Wassner, Greg Reynolds, Terry Povoski, Sarah Johnson, Brian Thompson, Dave Matwiejow, Val Stephens.

Lap Leaders- Speicher 1-20.
Heat Winners- Ayers, Speicher, Povoski.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- CODY CLEMENS, Noah Herington, Allison Teed, Zach Teed, Lisa Cornish, Trista Teed, Jordan Siri (DNS).

Lap Leaders- A. Teed 1, Clemens 2-10.

Youth Enduro (10 Laps)- JOEY RODBOURN, Lucas Gilson, Pat Kerrick, Justin Eldridge, Emalee Brockman.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

RK Howell Gravel Products

DC Rauscher

NAPA of Addison, New York

Lanes Yamaha

Macs Dairy Bar