Jul 3, 2010 01:06 PM EDT

Brady Wonderling Charges to BRP Late Model Win at Black Rock

Brady Wonderling used a line and a setup he discovered in the consolation event to rocket his way to an impressive win the BRP CanAm Late Model Feature at Black Rock Speedway.

Using a car of his brother, Jeremy, the Scio, NY competitor quickly moved with his sibling into the top-10 after starting back in 22nd. Wonderling would then inherit the lead on lap 16 after leader J.J. Mazur was taken out by second place Adam Ashcroft and never look back.

“The car was awful in the heat,” admitted Wonderling in Victory Lane. “We changed a bunch of things and wow! That was the most fun I have had in a long time. Of course winning is always fun, but to come from the B and win is really fun.”

Jon Rivers would pressure Wonderling the rest of the way, hounding him on the bottom, the preferred groove on the night. If Wonderling would have slipped up, Rivers had enough to get by, but that never happened.

Jason Knowles continued his solid season at BRS with a fine third with August 2009 winner Wayne Robertson in fourth. April 2009 winner Greg Galligan completed the top-five.

A major incident early in the event took out strong contenders such as Larry Knowles and Bryce Davis. Dave DuBois also had issues on the opening circuit and Bruce Miller lost a drive shaft while charging to the front.

Nate DeLong pulled off an impressive win in the Hoselton Auto Mall Sportsman division. The Coudersport, PA shoe had to hold off point leader Donnie Lawson for the final 16 circuit, including the final restart of the race on lap five and a thrilling drag race back to the checkered flags.

DeLong kept his No. 1N glued to the inside lane the entire race, and would stay committed to that groove on the final lap, when he rapidly approached a lapped car. Slowed by the traffic, Lawson made one last effort on the final corner on the high side, pulling even with the leader and the two engaged in contact back to the stripe, with DeLong one tire length ahead.

“I knew the 11 was there, but I also knew the bottom was the place to be,” commented DeLong after the event.

Ron Cartwright Jr. plowed his way to third, with John Juhl and Rob Richmond Jr. completing the top-five.

The American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature was a battle of the Nates, with Daggett getting around Peckham on the final lap.

Nate Peckham lead the first 19 circuits, only to get caught behind a lapped car on the final lap and see Nate Daggett drive around on the outside, a groove the No. 3D had used to get up into second before then.

Daggett nearly lost his chance at a win before then when he nearly spun out coming out of turn four.

Behind the Nates were champions Frank Guererri Jr., Carl Cleveland and Chris Fisher.

Terry Povoski again scored the win in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinders, but had to work hard, taking the lead just four laps from the finish.

Ray Speicher took the lead early on with a fine three-wide pass around Del Cummings to get in front. Povoski was smooth and steady in his No. 4 and would prevail for the win.

Speicher would hang on for second with Rich Sharpsteen II in third. Scott Bradley and Chad Ayers completed the top-five.

Noah Herington realized he got a fortunate break to get back to his winning ways in the Home Necessities Bandits division. Herington slipped by Jordan Siri, who got caught behind a lapped car heading down the backstretch on the final lap and allowed the No. 7H a chance to drive by for his fourth win of the year. Siri would settle for second with Zach Teed third.

An added bonus on the night was the Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour. With 30 cars on hand, it put the total car count on the night over 125. Matt Smith of Canandaigua pulled off the win in a nearly caution-free event, taking the Checkered Flags just before having his chain break on the tool-down lap.

Nick Cooper pressured Smith but just did not have enough to get by and would settle for second. Alysha Ruggles was third with A.J. Bogino and Darryl Ruggles the rest of the top-five.

Racing action takes a week off at Black Rock this Friday in anticipation of the Avoca/Howard Hill Climb the following two days. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/2/2010-
NAPA of Montour Falls and Ovid/ Knapp and Schlappi Lumber Night

BRP Can/Am Late Model Feature (30 Laps)- BRADY WONDERLING, Jon Rivers, Jason Knowles, Wayne Robertson, Greg Galligan, Brian Knowles, Brian Hoffman, Dave DuBois, Rich Karlnoski, Quinn Sutherland, Jared Hill, Greg Young, Mikey Wonderling, JJ Mazur, Adam Ashcroft, Jeremy Wonderling, Mike Wonderling, Jim Johnson, Steve Watson, Bryce Davis, Larry Knowles, Cecil LeBarron, Bruce Miller, John Waters.

DNQ: Dan Cobb, Nick Dandino, Adam DePuy, Chris Peacock, Josh Smith

Lap Leaders- Mazur 1-15, B. Wonderling 16-30.
Heat Winners- Mazur, Robertson, Hoffman, Ashcroft.
Consolation Winner- B. Wonderling.

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- NATE DELONG, Donnie Lawson, Ron Cartwright Jr., John Juhl, Rob Richmond Jr., Brady Fultz, Katelyn Kane, Dale Welty, Fran Hilton, Joe Cook Jr., Loren Lincoln, Serenity Sutherland, Trevor Sutherland, Chris Comstock, Randy McCulloch, Brent Ayers, Steve Swarthout, Rob Parker, Matt Richmond, Bryan Faulkner, Jeff Frasier, Ray Bliss Jr., Damon Walker (DNS).

Lap Leader- DeLong 1-20.
Heat Winners- Cartwright, Cook, Juhl.

American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- NATE DAGGETT, Nate Peckham, Frank Guererri Jr., Carl Cleveland, Chris Fisher, Andy Fisk, Jeremy Perkins, Chris Force, Rich McIntyre, Jim McAfee, Bob Buono, Les McCann, Jake Fretz, Ralph Champion Jr., Scott Sebring, Jared Hill, Chuck Winslow, Dan Searles, Mike Jackson, Larry Fenton Jr.

Lap Leaders- Peckham 1-19, Daggett 20.
Heat Winners- Champion, Fisher, McAfee.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- TERRY POVOSKI, Ray Speicher, Rich Sharpsteen II, Scott Bradley, Chad Ayers, Del Cummings, Jack Ayers, Russ Wassner, Jamie Eldredge, Val Stephens, Mike Ziarno, Kailey Wassner, Erica Bell, Sarah Johnson, Brian Thompson, Tyler Siri, Chad Winslow (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Cummings 1-6, Speicher 7-17, Povoski 18-20.
Heat Winners- Povoski, Siri.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- NOAH HERINGTON, Jordan Siri, Zach Teed, Lisa Cornish, Allison Teed, Joey Rodbourn.

Lap Leaders- Cornish 1, Siri 2-9, Herington 10.

Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Feature (20 Laps)- MATT SMITH, Nick Cooper, Alysha Ruggles, Tyler Walker, A.J. Bogino, Darryl Ruggles, Steve Doell, Kevin Carlson, Steven Fonte, Ben Kysor, Colton Wilson, No. 47, Jim Lafler, Mike Foster, Dan Naegele, Matt Jones, Ryan Ellis, Eric Wise, Kirsten Dombrowski, Harry Copp Jr., No. 41x, Dave Ferguson, Grey Kysor, Jim Radney.

DNQ- Keith Heater, Frank Jarkiewicz, John Smith, Matt Farnham.

Lap Leaders- A. Ruggles 1, M. Smith 2-20.
Heat Winners- A. Ruggles, M. Smith, Ferguson.
B-Main Winner- Wise.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford