Jan 19, 2009 08:43 AM EDT

Champions Honored at Black Rock Speedway Awards Banquet

WATKINS GLEN, NY - It took six extra days to hand out the hardware and point fund for the 2008 season at the Black Rock Speedway, but it was still an enjoyable evening.

Hundreds of racers, owners, family and friends packed into the Watkins Glen Community Center on a chilly evening to reflect on a long season that is now farther away than the season that lies ahead.

For the third time in the last four years, Brian Swarthout was the final competitor to make his way up to the stage to collect the largest trophy and largest check in the Marble’s Automotive Modified Division. Despite not capturing a win this season, the Beaver Dams resident was smooth and steady all year long to claim the title.

Todd Henderson added his name to the list of Hoselton Auto Mall Sportsman Champions. The Canandaigua driver won the first six feature events along with a track high nine heat races and held off defending champion Brady Fultz in a title point race.

Dave DuBois, of Corfu, captured his first career championship in the Freedom Village USA Late Model Division. Even though he was never found outside of the top-7 in feature finishes, DuBois really came on over the second half of the season where he won three events, including on the final night.

Consistency was the championship recipe for Chris Fisher, as he was found outside of the top-5 only twice in 2008 to help him score Labatt Blue Street Stock Title. Fisher, from Bluff Point, finished the year with 8 top 2s.

Joe Povoski returned to the top of the list in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinders. The Bradford driver opened up 2008 with three feature wins to grab the points lead, a spot he would never come close to relinquishing the rest of the year.

Cody Moorehouse was named the Home Necessities Bandits Champion, picking up the big screen television for his consistency. The Savona driver won a pair of races in 2008 and was a runner-up six other times.

Special awards were also handed out at the beginning of the ceremony, including the rookie of the year, the most improved driver, the best appearing car and most sportsman-like driver. Russ Wassner was named the speedway’s Hard Luck Recipient, while Mary Hoose received the Doris Hoag Leady Lady Award. Frank Guererri became the first recipient of the Dutch Hoag Legend in Racing Honor and the Gater Racing News picked up the Jack Christensen Media Award. Assistant Starter Jerry Ellis was the Charles Hill Memorial Recipient and Jim Wallenbeck picked up the Service Award.

Special awards were also given out by Rocky the Race Clown to lighten the mood and help everyone share in some laughs over the night. BRS Owner and Promoter Dean Hoag also spoke about the year and looked ahead to 2009. Hoag announced that he removed the “Turtles”, added clay to the inside of the corners, making them now 75 feet wide.

Racing is less than three months away, and the Arnot Mall Car show is just seven weeks away as it is taking place early this year on March 14 and 15. For more information, be sure to visit

Black Rock Speedway Awards Banquet:
Award Recipients

Marble’s Automotive Modifieds

1. Brian Swarthout (Best Appearing)
2. Eric Fisher (Most Improved)
3. Mike Mahaney (Rookie of the Year)
4. Ron White (Sportsmanship)
5. Chris Ostrowsky
6. Dale Welty
7. Ray Bliss

9. Trevor Sutherland
10. Dave DuBois
11. Donnie Lawson
12. Ron Cartwright Jr.
13. Tim Sebring
14. Serenity Sutherland
15. John Pfeffer
16. Brian Doolittle

Hoselton Auto Mall Sportsman

1. Todd Henderson
2. Brady Fultz
3. Fran Hilton (Sportsmanship)
4. Dan Sellen
5. Craig Gardner (Most Improved)
6. Chuck Winslow (Best Appearing)
7. Marcus Dinkins
8. Greg Hixson

11. Loren Lincoln

Greg Crooker (Rookie of the Year)

Freedom Village USA Late Models

1. Dave DuBois
2. Jeremy Wonderling
3. Quinn Sutherland
4. Rich Karlnoski
5. Mikey Wonderling (Beat Appearing)
6. Tim Schram (Sportsmanship)
7. Brandon Smith (Most Improved)
8. Chris Peacock
9. Nate Daggett

12. Tracey Rhoads

Labatt Blue Street Stocks

1. Chris Fisher
2. Rich Sharpsteen I
3. Jared Hill (Most Improved)
4. Nicole Barzee (Rookie of the Year)
5. George Parker
6. Chris Force (Sportsmanship)
7. Rich Talada
8. Chuck Pruden
9. Jeremy Perkins
10. Kevin Morrison (Best Appearing)
11. Jayme Gilbert

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder

1. Joe Povoski
2. Ray Speicher
3. Jack Ayers
4. Del Cummings
5. Rich Sharpsteen II (Best Appearing)
6. Terry Povoski
7. Jon Wallenbeck
8. Scott Woodruff
9. Russ Wassner (Hard Luck)
10. C.J. Winslow (Rookie of the Year)
11. Chad Ayers
12. Brent Kirk (Sportsmanship)
13. Brad Rathbun (Most Improved)
14. Scott Bradley
15. Erica Bell
16. Dave Havens
17. Harry Ayers
18. Brian Thompson

Home Necessities Bandits

1. Cody Moorehouse
2. David Ahouse (Best Appearing)
3. Jamie Eldredge Jr. (Most Improved)
4. Josh Wallenbeck
5. Chad Winslow
6. Courtney McMinds (Sportsmanship)
7. Kailey Wassner
8. Cody Chisom
9. Brian Wilson
10. Lisa Cornish

FWD Enduro

1. Bill Werner

T-2. Nick Werner

T-2. Robert Schulz

Special Awards

Doris Hoag Leading Lady- Mary Hoose

Dutch Hoag Legend in Racing- Frank Guererri

Jack Christensen Media Award- Gater Racing News

Charles Hill Memorial Award- Jerry Ellis

Service Award- Jim Wallenbeck

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Friendly Ford

RK Howell Gravel Products

DC Rauscher

NAPA of Addison, New York