Aug 2, 2008 02:16 AM EDT

Steve Paine and Todd Henderson Each Capture Win #5 at Black Rock

DUNDEE, NY - Steve Paine continued his dominance of the Marbles Automotive Modifieds, capturing his fifth win of the season at his favorite race track.

The Waterloo, NY Veteran scored his fourth win in the row at BRS on a beautiful Friday Night, passing John Pfeffer on a lap 19 restart and surviving a number of late-race cautions to win the shortened 23-lap event.

Paine started in 10th but had taken the fifth position by the first caution on lap two. A pair of laps later he was in to third but would have to fight hard to get around Donnie Lawson. He would finally get around the No. 18 on lap 15 and then began his charge on Pfeffer.

After reeling in the No. 79 for the lead, Paine was having trouble getting by him under green flag conditions. After a yellow flag on lap 19 for Eldon Payne Jr. Paine would make the pass that would eventually decide the event.

Pfeffer would go to the inside in turn one on the restart, leaving the door wide open for The Hurricane to sling into the lead and drive away.

I was surprised to see (Pfeffer) go to the bottom, but he was in a tough situation cause I was gaining on him alright on the bottom so he had to figure it might be alright, said Paine after the event. We would have never had a chance if we didnt have a caution, because half way through I was a straightaway behind.

Paine caught the big caution on lap 16 when Serenity Sutherland spun in turn three. With six cautions over the final seven laps, the time limit came into effect, shortening the event by two laps.

Pfeffer was able to hold on to second, with Ron White a close third. Mike Mahaney rebounded from early problems to finish in fourth, ahead of Donnie Lawson fading back to round out the top-five.

Todd Henderson, of Canandaigua, made his return to Victory Lane in the Hoselton Sportsman Feature, taking the lead from Marcus Dinkins on lap four and pulling away to win by a half-lap.

We got the breaks tonight, the high side way great tonight, the car ran great, this is great, noted Henderson in Victory Lane. We are down to the crunch time for points, so we are in for the fight.

In an event, which saw just one yellow, as Henderson cruised to the win, a fierce battle was on between Dinkins and defending champion Brady Fultz for the runner-up spot. Dinkins, of Watkins Glen, would survive all the challenges and hang on for his best career finish.

As Fultz crossed in third, Fran Hilton was able to finish fourth with Eric Giguere completing the top-five Jeremy Wonderling rekindled his Championship form in the Freedom Village USA Late Model event, dominating the 20-lap event to pick up his first win since May.

Wonderling, who is getting married on Sunday, was strong all event, but had a late challenge from Bruce Miller, who was able to pull within three car lengths of the No. 3J ins the closing laps.

Behind Wonderling and Miller would be Dave DuBois, Dave Yehl and Jim Johnson.

Chris Fisher survived a multitude of restarts in the Labatt Blue Street Stock Features, holding off Mike Schultz and Nate Peckham for his third win of the year.

With the top of the track the premier grooves, passes had to be wisely choreographed. On a lap four restart, Larry Fenton Jr. chose the bottom of the track, leaving Fisher the ideal line, which he would use to take the lead and hold it the rest of the way.

With a myriad of drivers having issues throughout the event, Fisher was able to pad his point lead in his No. 37.

Schultz had his best finish of the year in second, with Peckham in third ahead of Jared Hill and Chuck Pruden, who rounded out the top-five.

Jon Wallenbeck scored his third win in a row in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder feature, taking the lead from his buddy Ray Speicher on lap 17 and moving around lap traffic for his fifth win of the year.

With just two cautions in the 20-lap event, a feverish pace saw a number of tight battles with the cars wound up on the top. Joe Povoski would move in to finish in second, with Speicher third and C.J. Winslow and Brent Ayers rounding out the top-five.

Dylan Cecee ran into a block of foam on the first lap but was able to rebound in just five laps, taking the lead on lap six and cruising to his fourth straight win in the Home Necessities Bandits.

Chad Winslow jumped out in front early, but struggled the remainder of the event. Josh Wallenbeck, who was in second coming to of turn four on the final lap, spun and place sixth. Among those able to move around him were Cody Moorehouse and David Ahouse, who finished second and third, respectively.

Derek Blumbergs of Yates County picked up the sweep in the Law Enforcement Enduro, winning in a pair of cars and picking up the big trophy.

In a thrilling conclusion to the night of racing, Brian Grant held off four fierce competitors to pick up the top prize in the 30-lap enduro.

Next Friday is the Insinger Race Fuels NY Nationals for the ASCS Patriots, paying $5,000-to-win. The Modifieds, NYMM and 4-cylinders will also be on hand.

Black Rock Speedway Results: 8/1/2008-

Re/Max Realty, Ira Wyman Fuels, Route 81 Radio and Coots Concrete Night

Marbles Automotive Modified Feature (23 Laps)- STEVE PAINE, John Pfeffer, Ron White, Mike Mahaney, Donnie Lawson, Brian Swarthout, Chris Ostrowsky, Serenity Sutherland, Dale Welty, Eric Fisher, Eldon Payne Jr., Trevor Sutherland, Dave DuBois, Brian Doolittle, Ray Bliss, Tim Sebring, Ron Cartwright Jr. (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Doolittle 1-2, Pfeffer 3-19, Paine 20-23.

Finger Lakes Auto, Truck and Marine/NAPA Up-and-Comer Award- John Pfeffer

Heat Winners- Lawson, Doolittle.

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- TODD HENDERSON, Marcus Dinkins, Brady Fultz, Fran Hilton, Eric Giguere, Craig Gardner, Greg Hixson, Dan Sellen, Chuck Winslow, Brett Buono, Rick Willsey, Greg Crooker.

Lap Leader- Dinkins 1-3, Henderson 4-20.

Heat Winners- Buono, Henderson.

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- JEREMY WONDERLING, Bruce Miller, Dave DuBois, Dave Yehl, Jim Johnson, Rich Karlnoski, Brandon Smith, Mikey Wonderling, John Waters, Tim Schram, Mike Smith, Nate Daggett, Quinn Sutherland, Chris Peacock, Tracey Rhoads.

Lap Leaders- J. Wonderling 1-20.

Heat Winners- Wonderling, Miller.

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- CHRIS FISHER, Mike Schultz, Nate Peckham, Jared Hill, Chuck Pruden, George Parker, Jim McAfee, Ross Lurcock, Jayme Gilbert, Chris Force, Frank Guererri Jr., Rich Talada, Kevin Morrison, Frank Chapman Jr., Jeremy Perkins, Nicole Barzee, Rich Sharpsteen, Larry Fenton Jr.

Lap Leaders- Fenton 1-3, Fisher 4-20.

Heat Winners- Fenton, Hill.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- JON WALLENBECK, Joe Povoski, Ray Speicher, C.J. Winslow, Chad Ayers, Scott Bradley, Brad Rathbun, Scott Woodruff, Terry Povoski, Jack Ayers, Erica Bell, Brent Ayers, Dave Havens, Del Cummings, Brian Thompson, Brent Kirk, Russ Wassner, Rich Sharpsteen II.

Lap Leaders- Winslow 1-7, Speicher 8-16, Wallenbeck 17-20.

Heat Winners- J. Povoski, T. Povoski.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- DYLAN CECEE, Cody Moorehouse, Avid Ahouse, Jamie Eldridge Jr., Courtney McMinds, Josh Wallenbeck, Kailey Wassner, Sarah Johnson, Cody Chisom, Lisa Cornish, Chad Winslow, Zack Teed.

Lap Leaders- Winslow 1, Wallenbeck 2-5, Cecee 6-10.

Enduro (30 Laps)- BRIAN GRANT, Bill Werner, Bob Schultz.

Law Enforcement Enduro Feature- DEREK BLUMBERGS, JEFF ALBRIGHT, Burdet Madigan, Art Cady, Don Rodbourn.

Heat Winners- Matt Nielson, Sean Brown, Greg Mullen

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Doug Gross Construction

Winners Circle Deli

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford