Jul 19, 2008 12:24 PM EDT

Steve Paine and Brady Fultz Back in Black Rock Victory Lane (updated)

DUNDEE, NY - The Marbles Automotive Modifieds were back for the first time in six weeks on Friday night, but nothing had changed as Steve Paine was still flawless staying perfect at Black Rock in 2008.

Paine captured his fourth BRS win of the year, making the pass on Dave DuBois on lap 14 and hanging on for the duration of the 25-lap event.

This track was just incredible tonight, I cant believe how much bite it has, noted Paine in Victory Lane. Its great to be able to race anywhere, top to bottom, it makes for some really good racing.

Paine was slated to start 15th, but after Mark Bristol spun out in front of the pack for the fourth time this year, collecting six cars, the Swarthout Recycling No. 7x was already up to ninth without a lap ever recorded.

Any time you can catch a break moving up early on with a wreck it is a huge advantage, said the Waterloo, NY Veteran. When you start inside the top-10 its a lot easier than focusing 15 guys.

Paine starting to move up through the pack by running the very bottom of the track, staying out of trouble until he could see the front of the pack. By the lap seven caution, he was up to fourth.

On that restart, Paine moved around Eric Fisher for third and then captured second from Tim Sebring to set up his battle for the lead.

Paine began to close on DuBois but the Knowles LP Gas No. 6x was still strong until just after the halfway point, when Paine finally put himself out front.

Dave was faster than us for a while, but then his car got tight in turn four, then the next lap it got even tighter and I was able to get underneath him.

DuBois was able to hold on to second place, with Ray Bliss rebounding from early problems to finish in third. Point leader Eric Fisher was fourth, with Tim Sebring completing the top-five.

Brady Fultz was just as fast in his Hoselton Sportsman as he was in the modified, dominating his heat and the 20-lap feature for his second win of the year.

Its about time, said Fultz, who won for the first time since April 25. He took the lead in the early going and survived two restarts to cruise to the victory.

Craig Gardner was a solid second place finisher with Todd Henderson, Chuck Winslow and Dan Sellen completing the top-five after fourth-place Daryl Hilkert was disqualified for refusing technical inspection.

Brandon Smith picked up his first career Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature win, taking the lead on lap eight and pulling away from the pack in the No. 96x.

Smith was steady in the opening stages, closing in on early leader Tim Schram. On a lap eight restart, he put his car to the outside and rocketed into the lead, a position he would never relinquish.

It was the first career win for the Cameron Mills driver, who had recently purchased the car from Tim Dunham. His Mopar-powered entry, who had not finished higher than 9th up until last week, when he finished third, showed a potential sign of things to come.

Dave DuBois was perhaps equally as strong, battling up to second place before spinning out halfway into the race. Despite going to the back, the No. 012 would find his way back to second, ahead of Quinn Sutherland, Mike Smith and Chris Peacock.

In the race of the night, Rich Sharpsteen and Frank Guererri Jr. battled tooth and nail for the final eight laps of the 20-lap Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature, with Sharpsteen holding off the newcomer by a half-car length.

As Guererri was making a bid for the lead with six laps remaining, the caution flag flew, giving Sharpsteen a chance to catch his breath. Two laps after the restart Guererri got underneath the No. 5acers, from that point on they would race side-by-side.

On the final lap, Guerreri ran his No. 113 to the bottom, but got loose coming off of turn four and could not get enough bite to take the lead at the line. Sharpsteen was shocked as he pulled into Victory Lane.

I dont know who that guy was but he was fast, said an elated Sharpsteen in Victory Lane after recapturing the point lead. I was sick all week and this really wore me out.

As the top two were battling to the line for the win, Chris Fisher charged up from seventh to third after the final restart to salvage a potentially disastrous points night. Andy Fisk was fourth with Mike Schultz rounding out the top-five.

The Signs Plus of Kanona Four Cylinder Feature was cut short by three laps with a myriad of cautions slowing the event.

Jon Wallenbeck took the lead after a lap seven caution for early leader C.J. Winslow getting spun out. From that point Wallenbeck was dominant and held off Joe Povoski for his third win of the year.

Behind those two were Scott Woodruff, Rich Sharpsteen and Russ Wassner completing the top-five.

Dylan Cecee continued his dominance of the Home Necessities Bandits, carving his way towards the front and then taking the lead on lap six to pick up his sixth win of the year.

Cody Moorehouse had a pair of restarts to try and take the lead, but Cecee stood the test of time to pick up the win. Rounding out the top three was David Ahouse.

At intermission, Bob Palmer of Palmer Farms picked up the win in the Big Rig Showdown, beating the other four competitors in each round to win the yearly event.

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/18/2008-

John Ferris Trucking & ServU Credit Union Night

Marbles Automotive Modified Feature (25 Laps)- STEVE PAINE, Dave DuBois, Ray Bliss, Eric Fisher, Tim Sebring, Mike Mahaney, Brian Swarthout, Kenny Peoples Jr., Brady Fultz, Serenity Sutherland, Mark Bristol, Dale Welty, John Pfeffer, Trevor Sutherland, Ray Hyer, Brian Doolittle, Eldon Payne Jr., Chris Ostrowsky, Ron Cartwright Jr., Donnie Lawson, Billy Romasser, Chris Clark.

Lap Leaders- DuBois 1-13, Paine 14-25.

Finger Lakes Auto, Truck and Marine/NAPA Up-and-Comer Award- Eric Fisher.

Heat Winners- DuBois, Fultz, Doolittle.

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Craig Gardner, Todd Henderson, Chuck Winslow, Dan Sellen, Greg Hixson, Smike Smith, Brett Buono, Rick Willsey, Gary Hotelling, Loren Lincoln, Marcus Dinkins, Fran Hilton, Daryl Hilkert (DQ).

Lap Leader- Fultz 1-20.

Heat Winners- Fultz, Lincoln.

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- BRANDON SMITH, Dave DuBois, Quinn Sutherland, Mike Smith, Chris Peacock, Nate Daggett, Mikey Wonderling, Dave Yehl, Tim Schram, Jeremy Wonderling, Bruce Miller, Tracey Rhoads (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Schram 1-7, B. Smith 8-20.

Heat Winners- Schram, DuBois.

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- RICH SHARPSTEEN, Frank Guererri Jr., Chris Fisher, Andy Fisk, Mike Schultz, Nate Peckham, Rich TaladaJim McAfee, Nicole Barzee, George Parker, Kevin Smith, Jeremy Perkins, Ross Lurcock, Jayme Gilbert, Chris Force, Chuck Pruden, Larry Fenton Jr., Jared Hill, Kevin Morrison (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Schultz 1-3, Sharpsteen 4-18, Guererri 19, Sharpsteen 20.

Heat Winners- Schultz, Sharpsteen, Talada.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (17 Laps)- JON WALLENBECK, Joe Povoski, Scott Woodruff, Rich Sharpsteen II, Russ Wassner, Jack Ayers, Ray Speicher, Del Cummings, Brad Rathbun, Erica Bell, Chris McCann, C.J. Winslow, Harry Ayers, Dave Havens, Brian Thompson, Chad Ayers, Duane Pingrey, Ryan Worthington, Scott Bradley, Brent Kirk, Adam Austin, Terry Povoski.

Lap Leaders- Winslow 1-6, Woodruff 7, Wallenbeck 8-17.

Heat Winners- Sharpsteen, J. Povoski, Wassner.

HomeNecessities Bandits (10 Laps)- DYLAN CECEE, Cody Moorehouse, David Ahouse, Jamie Eldridge Jr., Josh Wallenbeck, Chad Dickinson, Brian Wilson, Cody Chisom, Cody Clemens, Chad Winslow, Courtney McMinds, Lisa Cornish, Zach Teed.

Lap Leaders- Wallenbeck 1-5, Cecee 6-10.

Enduro (Top-Three 30 Laps)- BILL WERNER, KARL WERNER, MIKE ELY.

Lap Leaders- K. Warner 1-21, B. Warner 22-30.

John Ferris Trucking Big Rig Race Winner- Bob Palmer

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford