Jul 12, 2008 02:53 PM EDT

Dan Sellen First Time Winner at Black Rock

DUNDEE, NY - A pop up thunderstorm threatened the first night of racing at Black Rock in nearly a month, but persistence and clearing skies helped to provide for a fantastic night of racing.

As Home Necessities gave away $10,000 worth of items to nearly two dozen people of the healthy crowd on Friday Night, plenty was up for grabs on the race track.

Tacky conditions helped to mix up the order in the Hoselton Sportsman Feature. Dan Sellen of Genoa jumped out front early and held on throughout the 20 lap event to score his first career sportsman win.

Daryl Hilkert gave chase early on in the event and seemed destined to pick up his first win at BRS, but before he could get around the No. 12, he was sent spinning by Craig Gardner in the No. 14. Both drivers would go for a wild ride but save it and end up second and third, respectively.

Greg Hixson was again solid under tacky conditions in fourth with current point leader Todd Henderson completing the top-five.

In the Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature, Dave DuBois, another tacky track specialist, backed up his win last month in the BRP CanAm event with a win in the 20-lap feature.

Local Favorite Rich Karlnoski appeared to be on his way to his first win in a number of years, but just before half way would turn over the lead to the No. 012. While Karlnoski held on to second, Brandon Smith would place a solid third ahead of Mikey Wonderling and Dave Yehl, who continued to impress in this class as he completed the top-five.

The Labatt Blue Street Stocks continue to creep towards a 24-car field, which would make the races $500-to-win. With 21 cars on hand, Chris Force looked like he would capture his first career win, but Rich Talada was able to take the top spot on the final lap and pick up his second win of the year at BRS.

Chris Fisher’s second place run put him well out in front in the points, with Rich Sharpsteen struggling on the night. Nate Peckham, Force, and Nicole Barzee rounded out the top-five.

The Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinders also came close to seeing a first-time winner. Brad Rathbun had the best run in his two years of adult mini stock racing, leading until lap 16 when Jack Ayers took the lead and held on for his first win of the year.

Ayers would best Rathbun, Terry and Joe Povoski and Ray Speicher, the rest of the top-five.
An healthy field got the night kicked off right with the Home Necessities Bandits Feature. Dylan Cecce continued his 2008 dominance, moving around Josh Wallenback on lap three and picking up the win.

Brian Wilson had a career-best second, with David Ahouse, Wallenbeck and Cody Moorehouse finishing out the top-five.

Also on hand on Friday night were the Midstate Vintage Stockcars. Paul Casti made a last-lap pass on John Kuleszo in the modified feature, picking up his second-straight win on tour. Canadian Shirley Morden picked up the win in the sportsman/hobby feature.

Racing continues next Friday with the return of the Marble’s Automotive Modifieds. John Ferris Trucking and ServU Credit Union will present the program.

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/11/2008-
Home Necessities Christmas in July Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)-DAN SELLEN, Daryl Hilkert, Craig Gardner, Greg Hixson, Todd Henderson, Marcus Dinkins, Justin Wright, Gary Hoteling, Brady Fultz, Chuck Winslow, Brett Buono, Fran Hilton, Greg Crooker

Lap Leader- Sellen 1-20

Heat Winners- Hilkert, Hixson

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)-DAVE DuBOIS, Rich Karlnoski, Brandon Smith, Mike Wonderling, Dave Yehl, Jeremy Wonderling, Beamer Guizzardi, Dale Welty, Chris Peacock, Quinn Sutherland, Donnie Clemons, Nathan Daggett, Tracy Rhoads, Tim Schram

Lap Leaders- Smith 1, Karlnoski 2-9, DuBois 10-20

Heat Winners- DuBois, Smith

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)-RICH TALADA, Chris Fisher, Nate Peckham, Chris Force, Nicole Barzee, George Parker, Larry Fenton, Jr., Rich Sharpsteen I, Chuck Pruden, Brett Crawford, Jayme Gilbert, Jimmy Grant, Daryl Krebs, Adam DePuy, Chris LeRoux, Jeremy Perkins, Mike Schultz, Jared Hill, Kevin Morrison, Frank Chapman, Jr., DNS-Dan Mathews

Lap Leaders- Force 1-19, Talada 20

Heat Winners- DePuy, Peckham, Force

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)-JACK AYERS, Brad Rathbun, Terry Povoski, Joe Povoski, Ray Speicher, Jon Wallenbeck, C.J. Winslow, Brent Kirk, Scott Woodruff, Dave Havens, Erica Bell, Chad Ayers, Harry Ayers, Brian Thompson, Del Cummings, Russ Wassner, Rich Sharpsteen II

Lap Leaders- Rathbun 1-16, J. Ayers 17-20

Heat Winners- Rathbun, J. Ayers, Winslow

HomeNecessities Bandits (10 Laps)-DYLAN CECCE, Brian Wilson, David Ahouse, Josh Wallenbeck, Cody Morehouse, Chad Winslow, Courtney McMinds, Zach Teed, Jamie Eldridge, Jr., Cody Clemons, Cody Chisom, Kailey Wassner, Lisa Cornish, Austin Dowd

Lap Leaders- Wallenbeck 1-2, Cecce 3-10

Midstate Vintage Stock Cars Modifieds (10 Laps)-PAUL CASTI, John Applebee, Bob Williams, Leo Kuleszo, Ron Hadden, Matt Scott

Lap Leaders- Scott 1-8, Kuleszo 9, Casti 10

Heat Winner- Kuleszo

Midstate Vintage Stock Cars Sportsman/Hobby (10 Laps)-SHIRLEY MORDEN, Ray DeMolin, John Blanchard, Bill Holmes, Gordie Wood, Don Larmon, DNS-Bob Whiple, Jr.

Lap Leaders- DeMolin 1-8, Morden 9-10
Heat Winner- Morden

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford