May 24, 2008 07:55 AM EDT

Serenity Sutherland Makes History at Black Rock

DUNDEE, NY – Serenity Sutherland had been struggling all year with a fuel pickup problem. Those issues put her up front for the feature, the rest was up to her, as she dominated the 25-lap Modified Feature to score here first career win in Black Rock’s Top

“We got lucky this week, we’ve been having a problem with the fuel,” said an elated Sutherland in Victory Lane. “My boss just told me today to put the pedal to floor.”

Sutherland became the first female to score a modified feature win at Black Rock, leading all 25 laps to cruise to a win over Ron White and Chris Ostrowsky.

When the race’s only caution came out on lap 13, the fact that it was just over the halfway point made the restart single-file, something that definitely benefited Sutherland. “It helped me out a lot, any time I come off the restart the car bogs a little bit, other than that the car was real good.”

It was the first win for Sutherland since she won in the Pro Trucks three years ago

Ron White stayed within a car length for the first four laps after the restart, but then saw the No. 37 getting smaller as she hit her stride and pulled away for good. His second-place run tied a career best at Black Rock.

Chris Ostrowsky equaled his best run of the year with a third place showing, with Ray Bliss and Ron Cartwright Jr. completing the top-five.

Todd Henderson became the first competitor in an open-wheeled division to become a repeat winner, holding off Brady Fultz for the win in the Hoselton Auto Mall Sportsman.

In yet another caution-free feature, Henderson reeled in early race leader Daryl Hilkert and began to set up his pass. It took him until lap 10 to finally move by the No. 4.

Brady Fultz spent three laps moving into second, allowing Henderson just enough time to build his lead to allowing him to end back up in Victory Lane.

“We’re back on track,” the Canandaigua, NY driver stated. “This track was perfect again tonight and so were we.”

Hilkert was able to hold on to third, with Justin Wright on his toes for fourth. Marcus Dinkins scored his first career top five.

Rich Sharpsteen continued his hot streak in the Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature, moving around Nicole Barzee on a lap nine restart for the lead and hanging on to stay perfect in 2008.

Barzee chose the bottom lane on the restart, a move that even surprised Sharpsteen. He moved around on the top and put distance on the rest of the pack. Barzee spun out on lap 13, opening the door for George Parker, who held off Chris Fisher for second. Rounding out the top five was Jared Hill and Rob Parker.

Dylan Cecee won his fourth feature of the season in as many weeks, but this was probably his toughest challenge. After inheriting the lead from Cody Moorehouse on lap four, who had a flat right rear, Cecee appeared to be ready to pull away, but Josh Wallenbeck had other ideas and gave him everything he was worth.

The two swapped the lead three times in the closing laps, with contact being made coming to the white flag. Even though Cecee was in the lead and was spun nearly sideways, he held on to the lead to beat Wallenbeck, David Ahouse, Courtney McMinds and Chad Winslow back to the line.

At intermission, the Old Timers Enduro was held, with Don Buchanan, the Fulton Speedway Sprint Car Champion in 1983, moving around Bill McElwee on lap four and then holding him off in a feverish battle amongst competitors who were around in the early years of Black Rock.

While the Freedom Village USA Late Models were on the track for their feature, the rain hit the track and the power went out, forcing a postponement for that feature, as well as the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinders. Anyone with a ticket stub from Friday can use it next week when those features are made up.

Correction (Posted May 27) Anyone with a ticket stub from last week will receive a $2 discount - not free admission.

Racing continues next Friday to close out a busy month of May as Hoselton Auto Mall presents a full card of racing, plus a firefighter enduro and 1 on 1-spectator races.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Sunrise Insulation

Lamb and Webster

Lucas Oil


Averdi Storage Containers